The overall administrative supervision and responsibility of the district  remain with the Deputy Commissioner of the district.

Thus the Deputy Commissioner came to be helped by a gazetted Superintendent of Excise for the administration of excise affairs in the district, a Superintendent of Police for running the police administration, a District Sub- Registrar for the registration of documents, a superintendent of Jail for running the day-to-day jail administration, a Senior Executive Medical Officer to run the health administration in the district, Executive  magistrates who were magistrates of various ranks for doing the executive part of the administration and also to work as judicial magistrates disposing of criminal cases. There were also Revenue Officer and as such designated as Deputy Collectors.

 It is the Deputy Commissioner who is the invariable link with the State. He is to implement the policy in every branch of the district.

The district collectorate is further divided into various section and every section has its head or in charge who works under the supervision of Deputy Commissioner:

  • Confidential Section

  • General Section- Certificate and Arms

  • Law And Order

  • Supply

  • Revenue

  • Development Office

  • Establishment Section

  • Legal Section Office

  • Social Security

  • Welfare

  • Program

  • District Land Acquisition Office

  • Election

  • District Public Relation  Office